Renault Forums :: Independent Renault forum - View Single Post - Renault Clio 2 - Bonnet Catch Failures

View Single Post
post #234 of (permalink) Old 7th December 2006
Diamond member
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
Apologies if you are sick of hearing about this complaint but I need a bit of help to decide how I am going to proceed on this issue of the faulty bonnet clip.

I spoke to Stuart Jenkins from VOSA today who informs me that VOSA have decided there is no fault in the Clio bonnet clip but rather a maintenance issue. I posed a number of questions to Mr Jenkins and was surprised by the response. I have no great knowledge of what should and shouldn***8217;t be on a car so if you can expand on the answers I would be very grateful.

I asked if it was acceptable that the bonnet clip should be rusted on a car that is less than three years old ***8211;
SJ replied that as I live in Scotland the salt on the road will have led to it
rusting, he explained that the clip is in a vulnerable position so this is why it happened so quick.

I now ask ***8211; I understand it has to be in a vulnerable position by nature of its purpose but if it rusts so easily does that mean that it is not fit for purpose? Should it not have some kind of coating on it to stop it rusting? Should it be metal in the first place if the other two options are not possible? Could they not have some sort of cover on it? Thus, does this not mean that it***8217;s a design fault and not a maintenance issue?

I then asked if the primary clip is so susceptible to rusting is in not important that the secondary clip is fully functional, if this clip is prone to
sticking then surely this is also not fit for the purpose?
SJ ***8211; This clip should be maintained by lubrication.