Renault Forums :: Independent Renault forum - View Single Post - Renault Clio 2 - Bonnet Catch Failures

View Single Post
post #679 of (permalink) Old 22nd May 2007
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
Bonnet Catch fixed for free

I'm a newbie to this fab site. I thought I would share my Clio Bonnet problem.

I had noticed over the past few months that the lever for the bonnet in my car on the passenger side was a bit stiff and sticky. I hadn't saw Watchdog so wasn't aware of the problems.

A couple of weeks ago the lever stopped working so I couldn't get into the bonnet at all.

I then asked around and discovered the problems reported with the catch. My friend reckoned my lever wasn't working BECAUSE of the rubbish catch.

I called Renault (after seeing a site saying they would fix them all for free) who told me they are sending out letters to all clio owners (some half a million) to take their clio to the nearest dealer to get it checked out.

I took my car to my nearest AC (not sure if I can name drop) to be told by them that it was a "lubrication"/"maintenance" problem. I was also told that renaul were only recalling certain years of clio's ( 2004 and 05 I think the guy said). I told him about my conversation with renault and the letter and getting it fixed for FREE (you can imagine the look on his face when I said that!). Anyway, after good few mins of me saying there was a problem, him saying there wasn't (ie, you aint getting nothing for free from us) etc etc. A guy appeared and CONFIRMED what I said. That Renault were recalling all of them because it's a safety issue.

Lo an behold 30 mins later I was driving my clio away with a new catch FOR FREE. I didn't get charged a penny.