Renault Forums :: Independent Renault forum - View Single Post - SORN Help

Thread: SORN Help
View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 23rd April 2009 Thread Starter
Scenic Demon
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0

morning all,

I have a bit of a problem - you can all get to have a good laugh at me cos I think its probably gonna land me a nice big fine, but i wanted to run it by a few people, to understand if anyone might play it differently.

Here's the problem. In 2001 my car was a rover 214 and i suffered what could only be described as catastophic engine failure I decided i was going to try and fix the car, and in the meantime i'd bought myself a little runabout for 50 quid - an old fiat uno.

Anyway, i was a student at the time and living in a terraced street in Newcastle. my rover was parked up on the street outside my student house while it was undrivable - which turned into many months cos i couldn't fix the bloody thing

When i was due to move house cos i finished university and also the tax was running out on the rover, i had to move it off the road - i arranged a temporary off road parking place behind my sisters house in durham and had it transported on the back of a recovery truck (so it was never driven on the road untaxed)

First mistake - when i moved house, i forgot to change the address on my car log book - 8 and a bit years later i still haven't done it.

Second mistake - I never declared the car SORN..... and i still havent done it.

after a year of being parked at my sisters house, i had bought myself a place which had a garage, so i had my car transported again on a recovery truck, from my sisters house to my own house - this was in late 2002