Renault Forums :: Independent Renault forum - View Single Post - 2001 Grand Espace electronic display gremlins

View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 29th April 2009 Thread Starter
Diamond member
Nominated 0 Times in 1 Post
Nominated TOTW/F/M Award(s): 3

Hi all , I'm a newbie here and felt the need to start yet another thread about dashboard gremlins and immobiliser issues as the ones I have read so far have only resulted in either more questions or reassuringly expensive solutions.

In my mind, if it's broke, best try and fix it before shelling out ridiculous bundles of scrilla.

(oh, and on the subject of the Renault workshop PDF program thingy that the Admin tend to get all hot and bothered about-too tired to remember name of it):

I reckon Renault themselves should make these manuals publicly available, then Admin wouldn't need to cover their sixes and we'd all get a much better forum and better value for money, for what are essentially EXTREMELY overpriced, unreliable vehicles (new or used)

So, on to the problem(s) at hand....

My new (old) 2001 grand espace has a wierd dashboard problem, it displays nothing at all for ages when I start driving, then it eventually comes back on as normal and remains fine until the ignition is switched off again.

All the while, the immobiliser LED flashes

The RF plip opens/locks the doors fine and key starts car OK. No problems with that side of things.

I reckon either the ECU or the display unit itself are resetting every time the ignition is switched on/off.

(whichever one it is that resets when you hold the stalk button does it every time without fail)
So no average MPG/ range/trip miles are shown when cycled with the stalk button.... just this:

- - - - -

Also (with the engine running), while the display isn't showing anything at all and the immobiliser LED is flashing, if I switch on the headlamps the two green headlamp symbols also flash along with the immobiliser LED.