Renault Forums :: Independent Renault forum - View Single Post - Car Audio install. Complete Beginner

View Single Post
post #10 of (permalink) Old 24th June 2009
Platinum member
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nominated TOTW/F/M Award(s): 2
Send a message via MSN to tankface
Welcome perks

I recently had my ICE "overhauled". I had the original stereo, speakers and cd changer removed and some new kit installed, along with steering controls

Head Unit

As said, a new HU will improve sound quality fromt he stock speakers. You will also have a wide variety of advanced features at your disposal such as but not limited to:

- MP3 compatibility allowing over 150 tracks per CD or over 1000 on a DVD HU
- Bluetooth conectivity for taking calls through your HU connected to your mobile, as a hands-free kit; .
- Built in DAB (digital radio) tuner to recieve more radio stations and in better quality

It is generally advised to go with one of the main top brands - JVC, Pioneer or Kenwood as these are the manufacturers that most if not all ICE technicians/enthusiasts will know inside out.

Steering-wheel Audio Controls

Most well-known brands such as JVC, Pioneer, Kenwood etc have HUs which can be controlled using the steering controls - however do check this when you find a HU that you like as it is not a standard feature - certain budget brands (Mutant, Ripspeed) do not have this functionality at all and so you will not find a control adapter for either Connects2 or Autoleads.

Tip - Try and use a kit from Connects2 - from experience, the Autoleads kit requires dashboard removal (said to be easy but I'd sooner not!) - I had a look at the Connects2 kit and it slotted in behind the HU without needing removal of the dash! :D

These are 13cm (5.25") in size front and rear (at least in my 5 door) - the fronts are components (separate mid-bass driver and tweeter - tweeter in the dash) and the rears are coaxial (speaker-mounted tweeter).