Renault Forums :: Independent Renault forum - View Single Post - Renault Clio 2 - Bonnet Catch Failures

View Single Post
post #991 of (permalink) Old 1st May 2010
Platinum member
Nominated 0 Times in 1 Post
Nominated TOTW/F/M Award(s): 2
Re: BBC Watchdog report :: Faulty Renault Clio bonnet catches

Originally Posted by rampantreaper View Post
firstly i am an ex renault mechanic, secondly i had a pug 405 do exectly the same thing whilst i was on road test so i no exactly what youre saying. 405,s are known for it, cit bx were known for it . at end of day i no i didnt check the bonnet catch was shut properly, my fault simple as that.
yes i no they were designed as maintenance free but that doesnt mean common sense shouldnt prevail and check it really is shut.
most of the replys on here will be from people who opened the bonnet and failed to check it was shut, if a bonnet opened for no reason at all i would be first to agree it was a catch fault.
I had imagined a sense of loyalty to Renault and now I know. That is fair enough.

But you are being extremely insensitive; what about those people who hadn't had their bonnet up for weeks, if not months and still had a failure? You can't say they had not shut it properly (because it hadn't been opened).

As a mechanic you should know the weaknesses of this particular device and that it sticks unless pushed manually when not perfectly aligned. And can you explain to me how YOU check that the safety catch has returned into the engaged position? It is not visible and it is not reachable either.

BTW, I found a Scenic that also had sticky return on the safety; I don't know what year it was but it had access through the grill and was visibly stuck in the disengaged position.