Renault Forums :: Independent Renault forum - View Single Post - How much should this cost to repair? (Megane I wing)

View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 26th October 2010 Thread Starter
Inveterate Bodger
Nominated 0 Times in 3 Posts
Nominated TOTW/F/M Award(s): 1
How much should this cost to repair? (Megane I wing)

Hiya ... my continuing insurance saga rumbles on. Now we're up to the stage of me being given various offers and options, as apparently it's a cat C write off. Gimme a break. Apparently the cost of repairing a wing and patching up a door runs to a quite ludicrous amount these days - never mind that I've been driving the car for 18 months since the accident, it's gone through one MOT scot-free and hopefully will soon do another. (And the 600-700 of mechanical work it's had done in the last 3-4 months)

One option that exists is that I keep the car, and they pay me market rate, less excess and salvage cost, on the proviso that I have the repairs done myself and keep the receipts. Of course, this leaves me a budget significantly less than what their approved repairer has quoted, but I do suspect them of massively jacking up the price anyway.

What would you guys think is a realistic price for doing the following at an everyday body shop?:

* Replacing front passenger side wing (metallic "vert-tigo" green)
* Replacing front passenger door or preferably straightening out the crush damage on it (about 2x15 cm strip on the leading edge, mainly from me having to further bash the wing about with block & hammer to get the door open)
* Er ... and that's it. Though you can also quote for the wholly unneccessary replacement of alloy wheel and front bumper if you like, never mind that the bumper wasn't touched and I replaced the wheel myself about a fortnight after the accident.