Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi people, i'm new to this forum and this is my first post, i bought a 1998 clio few months back after i passed my test and everything was working fine until past few days. The oil pressure warning light keeps coming on intermittently, especially so if i'm in first gear in slow moving traffic or changing between 2nd and 3rd gear, it'll pop on for a few seconds, flicker and when i pick up speed it'll go back off. The first thing i did was check the oil level which is over half full and all over levels seem fine too. I know absolutely nothing about cars and i'm a student so cant afford to fix anything too major. Is this a serious problem?

thanks lisa

·
Registered
35 Posts
Yes first fill up to the proper level.
If that does not cure it, find out when it's had it's last service. Might have a clogged oil filter if service hasn't been done at the regular intervals.
You could try doing an oil and oil filter change yourself at approx £33. If that doesn't cure it, there might be a more serious problem that could involve you taking to a garage or renault dealer.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the help have just went and bought the correct oil my boyfriend has offered to change oil and filter (which i'm not sure about - just posted about this) so hopefully that'll sort it i'll let ya know

thanks again
lisa

·
Premium Member
40,429 Posts
Does the engine start to making strange noises when the oil light comes on?

It could be just a faulty oil pressure sensor,although if it's only happening at idle,that usually means that the oil pump getting weak or there is wear inside the engine causing the pressure to drop as the engine revs drop.

Good luck and let us know how you get on.:)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6