Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi, things are getting desperate and I need advice b4 I push the car over a cliff!!

The battery on our megane 53 1.9 dymanique drains flat overnight. It's had a new ECU, recon alternator, several new batteries, lots of money spent on diagnostics and no one can find the drain.

We've been told this week that as a last resort the garage would need to disconnect everything electrical on the car and then reconnect to find the fault, all of which is likely to cost another 700 in labour alone!!

We've been recommended by a friend to just buy a battery guard just to avoid the car not starting.

Obviously I'm no expert in the car field so any information would be appreciated....

Thankyou Rebecca

R

·
0 Posts
Hello and welcome to the Renault Forums :)

Hopefully some will be able to help you

·
Premium Member
999 Posts
It's a job for an auto electrician rather than the local garage.
A faulty cam sensor has been known to cause this problem, but that is just one of the many possibilities.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am having exactly the same problem. Heart sinking. I've had two RAC men, a diagnostics, a test battery, a new battery and £100 down. Only started last couple of weeks, had been running fine. Usually took overnight to drain, but been out today and it's gone flat in two hours :( I'm at a loss. The mobile diagnostic guy showed me meter that said replace battery, replaced battery and same thing happened. Booked in for main dealer next week because at a loss what to do. Don't want to throw good money after bad on replacing things that might not work : S I hate cars!

·
Premium Member
228 Posts
as a last resort the garage would need to disconnect everything electrical on the car and then reconnect to find the fault, all of which is likely to cost another 700 in labour alone!!