Independent Renault Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok so i have just got back from the drive of shame, my clio 02 1.5 dci 65 has just let me down, driving along at 60mph and the engine lost a bit of power and then pumped a bit of smoke so i came off the accelerator then the car juddered and then the car on its own accord floored it. i pulled over and then the engine PUMPED and i mean PUMPED out smoke. as in days of thunder style smoke everywhere. of course I took the key out the ignition and the engine didn't stop after like a couple of seconds panic the engine stop but boiled over. I'm no expert but that's not a good thing.

My friends at the AA got me back home, had the option of garage but figured the cost of a garage sorting the problems would be as much as a new car to replace it. so figured bring it home see whats up and go from there.

I havent attempted to restart it yet as i figure that will probably do more bad than good.

Im not afraid to have a go at sorting it as i figure i cant do any more damage.

The obviousy thing is that the turbo has given up, white smoke you see with black deposits on the ground by the exhuast and thinking back the car was using oil, not at a great pace but needed topping up every now and then.

Any pointers as to whats the cause and resolution?

·
Premium Member
223 Posts
Ok so i have just got back from the drive of shame, my clio 02 1.5 dci 65 has just let me down, driving along at 60mph and the engine lost a bit of power and then pumped a bit of smoke so i came off the accelerator then the car juddered and then the car on its own accord floored it. i pulled over and then the engine PUMPED and i mean PUMPED out smoke. as in days of thunder style smoke everywhere. of course I took the key out the ignition and the engine didn't stop after like a couple of seconds panic the engine stop but boiled over. I'm no expert but that's not a good thing.