Independent Renault Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Again,

I may have progressed part of my original problem with a new to me 14 plate MK4 clio with media nav built in.

Intermittent power up. However - I thought it was a black screen OR a yellow renault welcome screen only OR working perfectly.... all intermittent.

I drove the car through a tunnel with it in black screen mode and it's not quite a black screen - the backlight is powered up.

Can anyone guide if this is a software update or is it the head unit that is broken internally?

Has anyone seen this problem before?

I hope to get this fixed soon!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Does wnyone know of a decent Renault specialist in Yorkshire? Or I'll have to go to main dealer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Fantastic website - full of inspiration.

Hopefully you lot wont ever need any help from me
 

·
Premium Member
Clio Mk IV 1.5 dCi MediaNav S/S 2013
Joined
·
3,619 Posts
From what I've heard, the MediaNav 1, which I suspect yours is, can suffer from NAND failure (memory). If this is the case then no software upgrade will help. There is a guy @NeeK, that pops in here now and again and is very familiar with MediaNav systems who might be able to assist.

Remember, this is a FREE forum. Members offer help and ask for nothing in return. No need for sarcastic comments.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1cikko1

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi @1cikko1

As mentioned our colleague, if the unit is original on this car, it's a MediaNav MN1 Standard.
What mean is function intermitenttent? Time to time is restarting? After a while is stopping by itself a time?
Hi Neek

When I 1st got the car it needed new roof aerial as it was rusted out and didnt give any signal. I replaced that and the unit worked some of the time completely normally and perfect.... never turning off.
Then it started to give me black screen (actually a backlight is visible at night - so not OFF).
Now - most of the time - I get the yellow Renault welcome screen and that's it. No repsonse to ON/OFF button.

What is quirky - this morning I started the car and the screen came on all by itself and the radio/nav etc all works fine. I guess it's a unit problem not a car comms problem.....

So what could I do with this thing? Is it common? Maybe a replacement from scrap yard - but if common fault - I'll end up with 2 faulty units.

I hope you can help guide me.

Stu :)
 

·
Banned
Talisman Initiale Paris 1.6 Diesel 130HP
Joined
·
172 Posts
Hi

That is sign that it memory is start not reading anymore.
I usual recommend upgrade at MN2 which is better and more reliable.
But there in UK is a small company which fix these units. Search name removed and a breach when you own this company on internet or something like that.

Trimis de pe al meu SM-A705FN folosind Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1cikko1 and Wallace

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hi Neek & Wallace,

I just wanted to say a huge thank you & to come round 360 and follow up....

Armed with the potential for a repair being needed I sourced a later media (an LG) unit from a 2016 car (which has DAB and I don't think my 2014 is geared for it) for only £115 and it's all working - a much newer look to the welcome screen & clearly it was the media unit playing up and nothing to do with the car itself. Probably a bit of a gamble that has paid off.

THANK YOU GUYS for your direction.

I hope to be able to help someone here in return at some point!

Stu :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Hi Neek & Wallace,

I just wanted to say a huge thank you & to come round 360 and follow up....

Armed with the potential for a repair being needed I sourced a later media (an LG) unit from a 2016 car (which has DAB and I don't think my 2014 is geared for it) for only £115 and it's all working - a much newer look to the welcome screen & clearly it was the media unit playing up and nothing to do with the car itself. Probably a bit of a gamble that has paid off.

THANK YOU GUYS for your direction.

I hope to be able to help someone here in return at some point!

Stu :)
Hi, Have you a model number for the LG that you fitted?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Hi, Have you a model number for the LG that you fitted?
Hi,
I'm hopeful that I am of some help....

I plugged the unit part code off the back of the unit into fleabay and it popped up with lots of media units.

I couldn't see the point in getting one of the same age - as it's likely to have similar problems sooner or later..... so just went with a unit from a newer model.... iirc it's 2015 or 2016 onwards that got the later version from factory.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top