Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Custom seat configurations in a Trafic minibus - looking to carry people & bicycles.

Hello forumites,

newbie here.

I am currently looking for a new vehicle - I'm a keen cyclist, so am looking for a van type vehicle, that can move 4-5 people, and 4-5 full sized, fully assembled bikes.
Luggage would not be a lot, and I always have a roof box in the unlikely event there is not enough space.

I have carried out a fair amount of research, and the current favourite is a Renault Trafic minibus (The type with individual seats - Fast Track I think they are called?)
Or a Renault Trafic that has been converted for wheelchair access.

My thinking behind this, is that both of these types seem to have individual seats, as opposed to an combined row of 3, and so gives ultimate flexibility.
My plan would then be to have 3 seats at the front (The types of passenger seat where you can fit two passengers) and then run 2 at the back, line astern - if that makes sense.
So the idea would be to have 3 seats down the right hand side - back row\middle row\drivers seat.
And then simply the dual passenger seat at the front.

This would then yield a large volume of space in the middle and passenger side of the vehicle, and provide ample room for full sized bikes - I would need to work out how to anchor them securely, but that is a bridge to cross at a later date, and potentially an easier task with a wheelchair designed vehicle, as some of them have a recessed floor, and mounting\anchor fixing points already installed.
This setup would allow me to get away with a SWB vehicle, which would be advantageous, as we are town dwellers, so only marginally longer and wider than our current Volvo V70.

Does anyone have any opinions on whether what I have in mind makes sense, and or any suggestions as to pitfalls I may have missed?

Are these vans generally reliable?