Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi sorry if i have placed in the wrong space but i am new to this,i have a renault scenic rx4 privalige 2001 model with 86000 miles on clock,my car has sounds like a disel once it reaches the half way point of the heating qiuet on start up been going on for 6 months now,just been toldthat it is the dephaser pully and it is gonna cost 500 ,struggling with this as mum of twins my question is i had the cam belt .timming belt and the tappits all replaced but they are saying i will have to have the cam belt done again as the dephaser pully needs doing?

·
Premium Member
40,429 Posts
The pulley it's self is £140+vat from Renault,the timing belt will have to come off to replace it so it does need to be changed again as once they are tensioned it is not advisable to use them again.

Did they replace the tappets to try and cure the noise the first time?.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The pulley it's self is £140+vat from Renault,the timing belt will have to come off to replace it so it does need to be changed again as once they are tensioned it is not advisable to use them again.

Did they replace the tappets to try and cure the noise the first time?.
thanks for response lagdti yeah i said above they did just spelt it wrong opps ,just it all costing so much i am trying to research to get cheaper but looks like this is as good as it gets,after browsing site i see a lot of people with same problem shame they should recall really x

·
Premium Member
40,429 Posts
If they replaced the tappets to try and cure the noise then they,

A,need to learn a bit about these engines as the dephaser pulley is a very common fault on the F4R engine.

B,not charge you for replacing the tappets as it was a waste of time as it didn't cure the problem.