Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to this, but hope someone can help, my mum who is quite old and drives a Renault Clio automatic M reg has had problems for the last 6 months with the battery going flat. We have bought two new ones and they just go flat. We have called the breakdown service out twice and on both occasions they have said that the battery is not big enough its a 12v and should be a 14v. I have looked on the internet and rhey don't make 14v car batteries so what are they talking about. Please can someone advise us.

Fed up and desperate

·
Premium Member
14,145 Posts
Hello & Welcome to the Forums Filigree.

I'm sure someone will advise you on your post shortly.

Regards

Ottoman

·
Premium Member
40,429 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.:)

There is no such thing as a 14 volt car battery!.A standard battery is 12 volts and is charged to around 14 volts by the alternator when the engine is running.

You need to check to see if there is a drain on the battery.Do you have a multimeter?.

Also,what make of battery are you using?.The cheap ones can give problems......

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for your reply, I didnt think a 14v battery was possible but that was what the man said twice. I'm not sure what make the battery is we got them from ATS, the first one I took back because I thought it was faulty and they replaced it, but now the car won't start again and the battery has only been on for just over a month so it has to be something else. I can get someone to check it with a meter or get a garage to pick it up.

Thanks again

·
Premium Member
1,018 Posts