Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

The wife has a Renault Wind which is coming up for 3 years old and 27k miles and needs a mot in Jan.

We booked it in for an mot but it failed as both gaiters were split and both ball joints worn. The mot guy was surprised at this and suggested the ball joints were written due to crap getting in through the split gaiters.

So we took the car to the local Renault dealer who inspected the car and told us that the gaiters were split due to excessive kerbing as evidenced by the damage to the alloy wheels.

I asked how a force on the outside edge of the wheels can translate to a mechanical force on the gaiter causing it to split but nobody could draw me a picture.

Am I wrong? I'm no mechanical engineer but so far haven't had anything close to a decent explanation.

The wife's driving habits have not changed but this is the first time we've had this kind of issue at this kind of mileage - and yes her alloys always end up kerbed!

Any opinions and words of wisdom greatly appreciated.

·
Super Moderator Technical Supremo Platinum Member
23,980 Posts
I'm with you, confused how even the most violent banging over kerbs could split the ball joint gaiters, especially both of them.
Bend summat yes but not split gaiters.

And if I'm reading you right, it's more a habit of rubbing the kerbs when parking then bumping over them.

So even if it has an effect, why both gaiters? Does the good lady even out the wear by clipping both sides on a regular basis?

And if it is caused by her driving habits, why aren't more susceptable components worn, like track rod ends, inner tie rod joints, steering rack ?

Personally, in this day and age I'd be writing to Renault asking for a contribution to the costs. The days when these sort of parts failed in under 30k and three years have long gone. And if they haven't terms like fitness for purpose come to mind.