Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
18,909 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi over the last few weeks ive been getting a slit knock from the front drivers side now and then, on closer inspection it think its the lower ball joint it has a little play in it so went to my local motor factors to get one at the cost of £15+vat.The type that is on my car is the knock out type with spleens on it which i have never done will i need heat before knocking it out or would i be best just taking the complete wishbone out and then knock it over the vice cheers all the best Donald.

·
Premium Member
1,300 Posts
you may need a ball joint splitter.ive done a few in my time .if you can place a bottle jack under the wish bone with just enough pressure to slighly lift it, a good crack with a lump hammer or a mars bar;) should do the trick good luck don.

·
Premium Member
18,909 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Dont bring it to the meet then eh ...

Regards

Ottoman
Only if you do not behave yourself:d i will be doing next week iam not doing it out here in the wet wind and i have no chance on earth i would even fit a matchbox car in the garage so i will wait till next week till the weather picks up finger XXXXX

·
Premium Member
18,909 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
you may need a ball joint splitter.ive done a few in my time .if you can place a bottle jack under the wish bone with just enough pressure to slighly lift it, a good crack with a lump hammer or a mars bar;) should do the trick good luck don.
Hi 5th wheel thanks thats what my first option was going to be by placing alittle presure under the wish bone then alittle heat on the ball joint round the spleens and then the BIG CHAP OUT FINGERSxxxxxxx

·
Premium Member
18,909 Posts
Discussion Starter #9