Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
How much work and cost do you think is involved in converting my Lag II's standard Air-Con to the climate control?

I have had a look and I seem the have the sun sensor in the dash (centre near windscreen) and also the humidity sensor (in rear view mirror/interior lights control part)

Both sensors seem to be wired to something. I can't trace back to where the wires from each sensor go as I don't want to dismantle half the cars inside to find out.

I've also had the standard air-con control panel out and it seems to have some of the plugs/connector to plug straight into the rear of a climate control unit?

Can anyone advise as I am willing to spend a few pounds on a conversion if it's 1, Worth the money and 2, Worth the hassle.

I have a mechanic friend who can help me with it. So I won't be trying this as a complete novice on my own. I just need to know is it gonna be worth it and what cost to expect and what extra parts are required. I can also pick up an control unit from my local Renault breakers for around £50 as he gets around 5 in a week from smashed up cars and I know him well so he'll keep one aside for me when it comes in :)

I would really like to go to the climate as at present I cannot get my standard air-con to keep the car at a nice temp. I either feel too warm or too cold I never find a happy in between level :eek:

My air con is working fine. It's just in this worderful varied climate of ours you need to keep playing with the temp dial on the standard set up to keep the car comfortable as the weather changes from 1 minute to another here LOL!! With Climate control it would keep the car at the same temp and comfort level automatically without me having to play about with temp settings every 5 mins LOL

My friends Lag II though has the climate control and it seems to keep a nice comfortable level of temp when set to suit.