Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am a noob at this forum and not experienced with cars either, not injected ones anyway.

Ok, my query. I have a '96 1.8 8valve Laguna. It idles at between 1200 and 1500 rpm. You can see the idle speed valve hovering above the throttle stop (correct terminology?). There is no other problem and it runs ok.

I have been told it will not pass it's next MOT like this as it is not possible to get the revs low enough to test the emissions.

Any help is appreciated.

·
Premium Member
18,909 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum iam sure it will be able to come down but i cant help but iam sure someone will help you soon all the best Donald

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi Fraser,

Thanks for your input. It makes sense. Someone suggetsed I check for air leaks which I have done and cannot find any so I am turning my attention to the MAF sensor as you suggest.

Unforunately I can find no mention of it, or the pipe, in the Haynes and my local dealer is having trouble finding it too :confused: . Where on the engine are these and is it possible to test the sensor?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
I did wonder about the idle speed control valve but it can be seen moving and changing the revs so it seems to be working ok.

Thanks for the input.

Visited another renault dealer today who said that there's so many sensors etc that I would have to take the car in and get it checked over. 1 hour's diagnosis would cost £93!!!

Can someone please explain where the MAF sensor is located. There is no mention of it in the Haynes.

·
Premium Member
43,291 Posts
Hi Boozer - can you see the idle control valve moving back and forth - if so it shouldn't be it should remain quite steady with only minor changes - i sugest you take it off and clean it - just to be sure:) Not sure about your model but the later Laguna have a MAP sensor on the inlet manifold.

·