Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

A few of you asked for an update on my cambelt change I did over the weekend as mentioned in another one of my threads Laguna II keycard. I did a new post as it was a bit off the subject of the keycard.

Anyways not a bad job all in all. I would stress that if you've never done a belt change on any other car before I would leave this well alone as it is a bit more difficult that anything else I've encountered.

Total cost of parts was close to £90 after, this included:
Cambelt
Aux drive belt
Tensioner kit
Cam end caps

Took approx just over 5 hrs in total. A bit long but I've never done a belt change on a renault before so took my time.

As I said the job wasn't too bad, well worth keeping a haynes close by as it gives some good tips.
You do have to make 2 service tools to do the job, first is a cam lock, I made this from a strip of 6mm thick steel just long enough to reach the 2 cams, with 2 bits bloted onto each end to engage in the cams. had to grind it down a bit so it was the right thickness to sit in the cam lobes properly. This was origianly what I had made to do a belt change on a Ford 1.6 Zetec so I just modified for the Renault. Second was a crank lock, I used a piece of 6mm steel dowel for this, slightly tappered at the end so it would fit in the crack properly, seemed to work fine. I would imagine you could get away with a drill bit if you can find one long enough. Details of how to make these are in haynes.