Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to this so hope someone can help.
I have a 51 plate V6 Laguna II with 53k miles. The anti polution fault light came on and car was juddering whilst driving and a slow pick up, I called a mechanic who changed one of the front ignition coils and it worked. Happened again so I change the other front ones no prob. Now happened again, so I have changed all 3 rear ones and the plugs on all six. Car is not juddring now but there is a hissing sound and very slow pick up. Any ideas anyone.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply Chris.
It sounds like air escaping, stops when the engine is revved up but then comes back. Someone suggested it may be the manifold gasket which I didn't change, any thoughts.

·
Premium Member
224 Posts
Hi,

I think i may have posted a bit about this last year , if you look through my posts you may find it.
What i had was exactly the same symptoms as you. Took all of 6 journeys back and forth to dealer until they sent it to a renault dealership who diagnosed a loose connection somewhere in the number 5 cylinder line. All i know is they rectified it and been running great ever since ... so i would imagine one of your cylinders is misfiring and is intermittent . When that break in the firing sequence starts your light comes on ,car starts to run rough ... then when you switch off and go for a p**s return switch on and she runs lovely again . May take afew days or hours and it happens again. :steam: Yes my friend i am sure there is a misfire occuring in one of your cylinders .. i recomend you take it to a dealership to diagnose the problem .

Other thing i should say is the hissing sound probably is down to the manifold gasket which MUST be replaced every time it is taken off and as you had the rear plugs done i would imagine they put the existing one back on .... that is definatley a NO NO!!