Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just bought a 2000 'X' reg Renault Laguna 1.9 DCi Sport Estate with 77K on the clock. It seems fantastic to drive and has a full service history up until 65K. Looking through the receipts I can see no mention of the timing belt being done so I am obviously planning on doing this ASAP. I have saw 'timing belt kits' for around £80 or just the belt on its own for £12-30. What's recommended as I have saw different opinions on this. Also is this a job I can do myself or should I go to a garage? I am generally fairly good with cars but I have never done this before.

Any advice would be appreciated or any links to where I should buy my timing belt from or any recommended garages in my area? I am located in Glasgow.

Thanks,
Brian.

·
Premium Member
43,291 Posts
Timing Belt

Always go for the kit as it is essential for the life of the new belt. There is a strict sequence of vital things to do when doing this job. Unless you feel comfortable doing the job yourself - take it to a reputable garage. If you get it wrong you could wreck the engine.:)

·
RIP 31-12-2008
5,807 Posts
Hi Brian and a warm welcome to Renault Forums, I have to agree with madnoel10 about cambelts, always better to be safe than sorry and I'ts a lot lot cheaper than bent valves etc. As suggested always go for the cambelt kit as this includes new tensioners, I f your not happy about doing this yourself have a search through the recommended dealers and garages thread here on the Forum and see if there is someone near to you.
Regards Leroy

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Timing Belt

I found a garage close to my work that will do the timing belt only for £110 or the whole kit for £180 so I am going for the whole kit. It turns out I am the 4th customer he has had for my office and all the others are very happy with this work so I am booking it in soon.