Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just renewed the belt using the timing pins and the three marks on the belt to match the three marks on the sprockets.I turned the crank two revolutions so I can reset tensioner I was hoping that the three marks on the belt will come and match the marks on the sprockets but it seems it's not the case.Spent half a day turning and turning hoping it will.any help will do cause now am thinking marks are for initial set up there after they are all over the show

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
My reasoning is if the crank was nearer the cam you will use belt with less teeth or if it was further you will use more teeth but you will still have one cam shaft revolution for two crank revolutions regardless which will make re-matching the marks impossible.i am not a motor mechanic but very mechanical minded hence this has been my hobby and pass time

·
Registered
2 Posts
I'm thinking if the number of teeth on the belt was an exact multiple of the number of teeth on the crankshaft sprocket then the belt would come back to the same position every so many revolutions. eg if the sprocket had 50 teeth and the belt 250 the belt would be in the same position on the sprockets every 10 revolutions of the crankshaft (remembering that the camshaft turns once for every two revs of the crankshaft). The manufacturer would not design it that way to ensure that a belt tooth did not always engage the same sprocket tooth. Hence I would expect the belt teeth not to be an exact multiple of the sprocket teeth and the belt would only return to the exact same position every few hundred revolutions.

·
Super Moderator
10,933 Posts
Most belts & Gears Employ the "Hunting Tooth" Method to minimise wear at the same point in the train.

·
Super Moderator Technical Supremo Platinum Member
21,502 Posts
With timing pin back in, do the cams line up where they should ?