Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi im new to this so dont realy know how to start. but here we go. i have recently had my water pump replaced on my 1600 16v megane cab w reg while i had to change that i thought i,d change the timing belt with a full kit . part way through doing it i had an accident so could not finish it my self. so i got a freind of mine to do it. sounded nice when done but hav,nt been able to drive it due to accident. today i drove it & under load it sounds a bit retarded and is flat ? could the cam timing be out as he did mention that the inlet cam seemed to be half a tooth out but he said it would be ok? any help please. gats

D

·
0 Posts
If the belt is the only thing that has been played with, then i'd be checking the cam timing and belt tension

·
Premium Member
519 Posts
:iagree:

If the camshaft timing was correct before doing the belt change, and the correct timing tools were used, then there isn't any way it could be out by "half a tooth" :think:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
hi s80 unfortunatly after i hurt myself and could not continue someone else started repairing it again and left it with no timing tools inplace and unfinished? it was then another mate that took it on and had to start from the begining noticed it looked half a tooth out on the inlet cam? could this be the problem? sounds lovely on tick over just rough under load and flat as a fart.

D

·
0 Posts
If the camshaft sprockets are not held inplace with a keyway, then i suppose it could have moved.
Some are done on a taper and if the bolt gets loosened they can move.

·
Premium Member
519 Posts
If no timing tools were used then the person doing the job didn't really understand this particular engine. You might just have been very lucky to have no valve damage, and I would strongly suggest that you do not start the engine again until fully sorted.