Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya Folks , newbie here, thought id post a remedy to a problem ive had with my convertible (2000 reg Mk 1 megane convertible)I found that if while putting the roof down the power fails the car emits a warning signal and the roof lid will not operate and you have to use the override in the boot ( pull strap and release hydraulic presure valve).To fix the problem, first lift the roof lif and prop it open ( first release the roof and use the roof control button untill it beeps a lot) undo the 2 bolts holding the back of the seat pull seat forward to expose 4 torx bolts, remove these and un plug the power conectors remove the motor assembly and then simply get 2 wires conect one to possitive of a car battery and and the other to the negative.connect the negative wire to the black wire on the motor and then do same with the live, the worm motor should now retract to its correct possition. replace the motor assembly and connect the wires etc in reverse of the way it was removed.Un prop the roof lid and activate the roof button, you should now here the motor activate, roof lid should go up and rooff should now retract as it should normaly. ive done this twice on mine so i know it works, any questions , feel free to ask.

·
Administrator
10,981 Posts
Hey Cameraman, thanks for the tip and welcome to the forum! :d

·
Registered
2 Posts
hey i have a 2001 renault megane i went to put the roof down the other day and nothing happens it just make a beeping sound do u know how i could fix it without taking it to a shop?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Thanks to myredsportscar on this forum - he gave these instructions and they have worked for me around 4 times now.

1) Release hydraulics on hood cover by undoing the small tap located in the boot (under left hand carpet in boot)