Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I'm new to this. My question is this. I.ve just re-built the top-end of a 1.6i Megane. Checked and doubel checked the timing and everything is as it should be. So here goes I turn the key and way she goes,i'm thinking great. Then she stops! I look and notice that the serpintine belt is off,further investication show the crankshaft pulley as come undone. Checked the cambelt all seems good I retighten the pulley re-fit the serpintine belt, and she as done it again! Anyone have any idea why? Cheers R0sie 62

R

·
0 Posts
Hello and welcome to the Renault Forums :)

Are all the auxilliary belt pulleys free? on some of the pulleys there is an extra groove so it is possible that you didn't have the belt aligned properly?

If the crank shaft pulley has come undone doesn't sound as though the puley bolt has been done up tight enough? which might be the cause of the problem?

Is this the 8 valve engine? because if it where a 16 valve engine the timing would have been lost and you would have probably sustained valve damage.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello and welcome to the Renault Forums :)

Are all the auxilliary belt pulleys free? on some of the pulleys there is an extra groove so it is possible that you didn't have the belt aligned properly?

If the crank shaft pulley has come undone doesn't sound as though the puley bolt has been done up tight enough? which might be the cause of the problem?

Is this the 8 valve engine? because if it where a 16 valve engine the timing would have been lost and you would have probably sustained valve damage.