Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new, hopefully I posted in the right place...

I recently bought a Clio RXE 1.6l auto, love the car, a really nice drive.

However, recently she stared to stutter and conk out.

I know the temperature gage only works sporadically, the fan does kick in just as sporadically.
We have a replacement thermostat but need to fit it yet.

So when I'm driving, sometimes she just starts to stutter and then stops... When I then re-start her sometimes she works fine and more times she just stutters again... She seemed to run on 3 cylinders only sometimes...

We've changed the spark plugs, ht leads, air filter and the coil packs.

She seemed fine so I went back to work, I'm a delivery driver using my own car.

First delivery went fine, on the second she did it again, I just managed to pull into a carpark.
Just managed to get her home, only had to stop and re-start her twice...

Does anyone have any ideas please?
I'm at my wits end...

Thanks,

Doro

·
Technical Supremo, Platinum Member
5,201 Posts
On or near the thermostat housing you will see the temperature sensor,
check if it as clean connections. your new thermostat may have a new
sensor already fitted if cleaning the sensor fitting your new thermostat
may help.

·
Super Moderator Technical Supremo Platinum Member
22,112 Posts
Always worth checking and cleaning the Crank Sensor

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
On or near the thermostat housing you will see the temperature sensor,
check if it as clean connections. your new thermostat may have a new
sensor already fitted if cleaning the sensor fitting your new thermostat
may help.
Thank you for this, will try it tomorrow... and let you know if it did the trick :)

·
Registered
62 Posts