Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'Day Guys,

New member, new to Renaults though I did have many Peugeots in Australia (203,403,404, 504 etc) in the 80's & 90's.

My partner and I are touring Europe and staying with friends in southern France at the moment. They have just bought a new Renault and have kindly donated their Espace II to us to use for a bit of a motoring holiday :D

It needs front struts and upper ball joints. I have ordered the parts from Oscaro and am looking for information on tips/tricks for the replacement.

I look forward to interacting with members and any help/knowledge offered will be gratefully recieved.

Cheers, SB

·
Premium Member
525 Posts
Sounds like it's going to be fun! Loads of and help here. Looks like you're no stranger to a spanner so I'm sure you'll be good.

Dave

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Dave,

Entomologist by trade, but seemed to have had a spanner in my hand from since I could walk. :D

I'm a Moderator on the Honda CBR Forum, so know my way about - bikes and cars and forums, but can't seem to find much info on the Espace II front suspension. I now have the workshop manual and it doesn't look too hard. Replacing the struts and upper ball joints - just wanted to know if any member has tips/tricks for doing it without losing too many digits!

Again thanks for the prompt reply. I'll post up a question in the correct section of the forum shortly.

Cheers, SB

PS: How do we get a custom avatar?

·
Premium Member
305 Posts
Hi fella

If it's similar to a Guna II its plain sailing, just need some good strong spring compressors, Allen keys (maybe! to hold piston rod and drop links) some deepish ring spanners to undo top nut on piston-as quite deep on a Guna, and a good bench with vice helps then just normal spanner/sockets other than that nothing.

Regards

John

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #8