Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Just brought a megane 16 plate dci 110bhp on 27,000 miles reading the manual doesn't make much sense to me.
I am best doing a service every year say every 12,000 miles?

And timing belt when should i get it done?

Thanks in advance

·
Super fantastic Mod Technical Supremo Nice Guy
39,821 Posts
Timing belt is years or mileage
Best really to ignore manufacturers info here, as they are going on average.
And on a car no driver is average, some are really careful, some are bat sh1t crazy drivers.
So go on what ever comes first, 70,000 miles or 7 years..
Oil/Filter would go on every 12 months/9,000 then you will always be safe.

·
Registered
43 Posts
I am not a mechanic but use recommended oil (c4) 5/30and change oil and filter every 12000 or every year, timing belt is quoted at every five years or 72000mls, hope this helps and any one may correct this post.

·
Premium Member
51 plate Laguna 2 1.6
1,970 Posts
That's a nice low mileage so worth looking after.
We do low mileage (3k) so stretch the oil change to a couple of years, but we got the car at 112k. I think at 27k I would be sticking to the book.
The thing is you get no warning of a belt failure so it's a lottery after the quoted years/mileage, and the old belt doesn't usually look worn- ours didn't after 9 years and 60k, just the print had worn off.
On low mileage you might be tempted to stretch the years a bit but it's your call.

·
Super Moderator Technical Supremo Platinum Member
23,735 Posts
So go on what ever comes first, 70,000 miles or 7 years..
I think Renault's official is now 72K or 6 years
But as others have said, it can be a lottery.
A few years back it was 60K or 5 years.
Same belt and engine types have now gained a year.