Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am in the process of fixing a Renault Scenic 2001 1.9dci.
Before you ask I know what I'm doing and I'm a qualified mechanic, but I've ran in to a problem that I've never before experienced, even my cousin who has over 20 years of experience never seen this before and we cannot figure it out. So I'm asking here if anyone has any clues.

So it all began when me and my cousin spotted that one brake pipe is broken and leaking, so we decided to change the pipes. I took the pipes off and since it was too late and shops were closed we left the brake system open throughout the night, and as you would assume all the brake fluid ran out of it through the remaining healthy pipes.
Next day, I installed the new pipes in to place and we tried to bleed the system of air. While one rear brake caliper was building up pressure the other one wasn't. We checked the pipes, for any leaks or damage or even clogs, but found nothing. We tried to bleed the system with the engine on, because we though maybe the ABS is not building up pressure since it's off. But the problem persisted.
So we turned off the engine and looked deeper. We checked if the pressure was coming out of the ABS block, it wasn't. So then we checked if the pressure was coming in to the ABS block, it wasn't. So then it was pretty clear, it must be the cylinder at fault.
We took out the cylinder and then took it apart, but to our surprise everything seemed normal, no damage, no dirt, nothing. We had another cylinder from an English car, we took that apart for comparison, all seemed in order. So we cleaned it and put it back together. When I installed the cylinder things got worse.