Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! Here's my first post!

I just bought a 1997 Clio Mk 1, which I got cheap because the passenger side is well down at the back. I took the rear wheel off and could move the trailing arm up and down with no resistance from the torsion bar spring, only from the shocker. So the spring is either snapped or is slipping on it's splines in the centre of the beam tube (I assume).

I've spent a while browsing around for info, as I'm new to these beam axles even though I've been messing with cars for forty years. I've owned Morris Minors, so understand torsion bar springing.

There are videos and accounts of torsion bar removal...simple enough if you can overcome the rust glue at the trailing arm end. But if a spring has snapped, one could pull out only one broken section. The other section would still be in its splines in the centre of the beam. I would imagine that this is impossible or at best extremely difficult to remove so that a replacement torsion bar could go in. I've seen videos where a guy pulls out half a bar, but there's never anything about the other bit.

I can't figure this one at all. Any help would be much appreciated, if only to get it off my mind!!!! :smile2:

Cheers!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Never mind...I'll wait for the replacement beam to arrive and mess about with that.

Best wishes,

Paul

·
Technical Supremo, Platinum Member
7,755 Posts
Only other thing I can think of is take the other side out and see if you
can use a rod to drift the broken bit out from the opposite side
but I don't even know if that is possible.

·
Premium Member
6,550 Posts
hi

this was a common failure on the Pugs (106, 205 + 309)

replacing the whole beam was the recommend cheapest option

Al

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Re: RegarThanks for the replies, guys!ding a Clio Mk 1 snapped torsion bar

Thanks for the replies, guys!