Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, newbie here!! plz bear with me

I have a 2000(W) 1.4 clio, which needed a replacement front shocker, I have replaced both sides together with springs, top mount, bearing and rubber 'donut', I also had to replace a broken anti-roll bar mount at the same time, all parts came from ' Euro car parts'

The car is now 'banging' from the front suspension area when i go over speed bumps or pot holes, it sounds like something is loose but my local mechanic has had a good look and apart from a bottom ball joint which he replaced, everything looks ok!!! :steam:

Has anyone had any issues with replacement parts from 'euro car parts' or does anyone know if maybe any suspension parts have been altered since 2000...:)

Also ( sorrryyy) does anyone have , or know where to get, an exploded picture of the front strut. .... nothing in haynes,

This is driving me nuts :devil: , I apologize for the big post but hey, if you don't ask.. you don't get!!!:p

·
RIP 31-12-2008
5,807 Posts
Hi there and welcome to Renault Forums, I had a similar problem with my Lag I and in the end it turned out to be the drop links, not sure if you have these on your car but I'm sure someone will advise you soon.
Regards Leroy

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
droplinks

cheers mate but when you say 'drop links' are these what are refer to as bottom ball joints, or is it something else?

I am a bit old school i think! the ball joints have been checked and 1 was replaced, but the noise comes from either side depending on how the car hits the bumps, so I'm thinking it can only be something that i have replaced already?!?!? :devil:

·
RIP 31-12-2008
5,807 Posts