Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.
I’m a new driver and I passed my test about a month ago but not bought insurance yet due to going on holiday but I’m back now and have been looking at prices. Yesterday I wanted to clean my car so I moved it onto the pavement to wash it and as I was going to quickly move the car to wash the other side, an orange flashing light came on and I knew something was up. I know a little about cars so I thought to myself,”well the car hasn’t been driven in a month and I’ve only been on first and reverse gears so it must be because of high co2 emissions and I thought a drive around just cleaning the system would do the job. Of course I can’t do that yet because of insurance but later that night I researched on the reasoning for this light and it apparently has to do with misfire and could be very very costly fix as it has to do with the catalytic converter. I don’t understand how this could happen just after moving backwards and forwards 5metres a couple of times could do this. This morning I started the car and prayed to god that maybe it was just the exhaust temperature sensor playing up due to high revs but after 10 seconds of running the flashing light returned much to my dismay. My car is a 1.2 clio mk3 petrol 2009. Please if anyone could give any help on the cause and what it could mean for me I’d be so grateful , even just reassurance that it just needs to be driven around to get the engine warm again would be great.
Thanks in advance.
Amine11

·
Super Moderator Technical Supremo Platinum Member
22,807 Posts
Chances are it simply needs a good blow out... once you have insurance.
Plan on a motorway run or somewhere similar where you can give it 10 miles or so at medium-high revs and a cruise home.
Could be coils/plugs
Unlikely to be CAT.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Chances are it simply needs a good blow out... once you have insurance.