Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Renault Espace - Heating and Cooling - Climate Control wont maintain heat unless full on

Have done 22,000 miles in the car since May of this year and all seems Ok apart from the climate control wont maintain the set temp unless you want ti have it on at 26 all the time.

If you manually dial the temp and set the fan speed seems OK, but if you ask it to keep a desired temp of 22 for example it does not seem able to do this and an electronic gauge I use at work to check the AC in the office suggests it is 18/19 on average.

At Dover based garage for 18k service they said it maintained 20 when asked etc, but I said that it is when driving along that the problems are noticed. (as a landrover driver I know what its like to have a small hole in the front bulkkead that lets air in) not that this is the case, but...

anyway they said I couldbook it in again, and I said sorry you have hadyour chance you will have to wait until next 18k service unless you can come to my house and swap, and provide me with a larger loan car than normal for my daily communte...

anyone else have this problem with their Espace ?

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Now that its cooler in the mornings, I normally set it to 26 straight away, after 10 or so miles I turn it downto 22, but after 20mins I cant take it any longer,..... its too cold. A quick check on the digital probe I borrowed from the office suggests its 18 on the front passenger seat not in a drafty place...

The sun roof is very very well shut, in fact its still at the factory as this model does not have one fitted, so no worries on this front.

I will live with it unril the next service which is now in 16k or about 4 months, as I can control the temperature manually on the fan speed, just defeats the object of having auto everything though !

Ho hum...

·
Premium Member
764 Posts