Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
all electonic things in my car are all mixed up. what to do? seems like the earth wire is gone. does anyone know where the wire is located?

·
Premium Member
43,291 Posts
It is not a simple as that there are many earth cable connections on a car - but you could start with the battery. Are the battery terminals all clean and secure - is the earth cable to the engine clean and sound and it is also worth having the output voltage of the alternator checked - if it is faulty it can cause electronics to go crazy. Also it may help if you could explain exactly what is happpening.:)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
im from finland so im not very good at car english.
output voltage of the alternator? what is that and where it is?????? ill go now check the battery :)

and what is happening... i dont know the english terms to thigs that are messed up. window cleaners arent working, headlights blinks. windows dont work(electrinc windows), lock s and many many other thing are gone crazy.

·
Premium Member
43,291 Posts
You need a multi-meter to check the output of the alternator - Using it's voltage settings check the voltage across the battery terminals when the engine is running.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i forgot to say. the engine wont start because the driving blocking thing goes on... and i checked the battery. its clean.

·
Premium Member
43,291 Posts
Hi How to you know the battery is fully charged - has it been tested. The negative lead coming from the battery connects to the bodywork of the car to provide earth. If you mechanical skills are limited I suggest you seek the advice of a mechanic - as without actually seeing the vehicle and having a good description of what is happening it can be quite difficult to give assistance via this forum.:)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)