Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, I'm new to this site, so hello to all!

I'm not experienced at all with cars so cannot do any of my work and will have to take it to the garage, unless you say its easy and you won't have to take anything out etc.

Problem 1

My rear lights are a bit screwed up. At night with my lights on when i brake, my right rear indicator light comes on (steady light, not flashing) with my rear fog light too. When i don't have my lights on, the indictator flashes at a faster rate but returns to normal when i release the brake.

Is this an easy problem to solve? How much would it roughly cost to fix?

Problem 2

My rev counter never stays idle for very long and falls right down to zero and shudders itself back to normal but then keeps falling back down. Sometimes at traffic lights, or just being idle the engine cuts out. It normally seems to happen in the hot weather but recently happens all the time.

Again, Is this an easy problem to solve? How much would it roughly cost to fix?

Thanks everyone!

·
RIP 31-12-2008
5,807 Posts
Hi there and welcome to Renault Forums, your first problem definately sounds like a short circuit probably caused by damp connections in the rear light housing. You would need to remove the housing and check the contacts for corrosion and damp. Give the connections and contact strips a clean and then squirt with WD40 and this should clear the problem. Can't help with your second question but I'm sure someone else will.
Regards Leroy

·
Premium Member
293 Posts
hi tinker here your problem with the back light sounds more like an earth problem witch has played me no end of times even in the good old days of ford populars it just need everything cleaning and maybe a new earth fitted to it john

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4