Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm a QUalified HGV Technician, but you'll know as well as me Cars are completely different to trucks
I have a Renault Modus 1.4 petrol which had a missfire on cyl 1 obd dtc p0301. I have replaced all the spark plugs as matter of course although they looked good.i also swapped the coil pack from number 1 cyl with number 4 cylinder rechecked the obd and the code changed to p0304 cyl number 4 miss fire. so I went on to buy a new coil pack. fitted the coil pack and it still shows the fault on number 4. i swapped the new coil pack with number 1 and it still shows the fault on number 4. however the rrignal fault was on number 1. if i delete the dtc it runs fine on idle but as soon as you rev the engine it comes back on any ideas

D

·
0 Posts
It's probably worth cleaning the tdc sensor (top of gearbox bellhousing) which picks up a signal on the flywheel for starters.
I'm led to believe the coils are wired in pairs (1&4 ,2&3), so unplug the ecu and check the plug / contacts are clean, no iffy wires etc etc.
Make sure you disconnect battery as these french things are very tempermental with anything electrical!

·
Premium Member
101 Posts
Re: Renault Modus 1.4 petrol tdc sensor

Hi I have had a problem with my 54 plate 1.4 modus feeling very lumpy, poor fuel economy and finally yesterday the ecu light came on and it sounded quite rough.
After looking through the forum i have completed the following.
Removed all the ignition coils and spark plugs, No4 had moisture on the coil and plug plus the plug was dirty compared to the other three.
I have cleaned the plugs and sprayed WD40 on the coil and down the hole to dissipate the moisture before putting the plugs back in.
Cleaned the TDC sensor which is located at the back of the bell housing held in by one 6mm bolt and not at the top of the bell housing like on some of the other renault engines.