Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,newbie here!Ok My 1998 "S" reg scenic has recently started "kangarooing" when i let the clutch out,mostly in 2nd and 3rd gear.I can rectify it by putting the clutch back down but its peeing me off!I read somewhere about pencil coils but i`m not even sure if my car is 16v,can anyone advise please?....Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
40,429 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.

I suspect that your car could be an 8 valve,in which case check the vaccuum hose between the MAP sensor(on the bulkhead) and the inlet manifold.They have a tendancy to crack and split.If this seems OK,then they do have problems with coil packs,of which there are two.

If it is a 16 valve,then it could very well be a faulty coil.

To tell if yours is an 8 valve or not,does your car have thick spark plug leads running from two boxes near the front of the engine?.If so,it's an 8 valve.

If it has 4 smaller wires running from a loom onto each individual coil,then it's 16 valve.

If you know the engine code,you can tell from that too.:)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Blimey that was quick...thankyou!!I`ll have a check in the morning and report back if thats ok....thanks again....Alan.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
wow thanks....looing at that then i`m pretty sure its an 8 valve....the wifes out in it at the mo,so i`ll check in the morning...thankyou

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Morning lagdti,ok i think i`ve established its an 8 valve because ,as you said there are 2 boxes on the top of the engine,each with 2 ht leads coming from it.I`ve checked most hoses,whether i did the one you suggested i don`t know,but couldn`t find any obvious cracks,so does that indicate the coils?I fso are they servicable or do i just change them?....thanks.

·
Super Moderator
43,291 Posts