Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Guys
This is my 1992 Renault Trafic Auto Sleeper. I will try and provide good accurate information here... We are midway through the restoration (the first pic is a early one...much progressed now). I have hit on a major problem. I have ZERO electrics at the (new ignition).

Please can anyone point me in the right direction on where I should be testing to get some idea just what the heck has gone wrong. I guess it could be an earth problem but I am new to auto electrics.

Info:

Prior to pulling the dashboard:
  1. The vehicle started first time
  2. The dashboard has been modified with a three way switch and push button, all which were connected (I have been told this was to start the vehicle but I have doubts - see pic)
  3. All electrics were working except indicators (which I put down to a blown fuse not checked at time)
In order to fix up interior and carry out welding, I pulled all the dashboard about 4 weeks ago. While the dash was out I:
  • Jet-washed the engine bay
  • Took out the radio
  • Removed the 12v engine bay battery (and recharged it)
  • Also had to cut the loom to the rear lights (as chassis was being completely rebuilt)
Now having restored all the interior, I put the battery back, installed a new ignition switch and re-soldered the loom to its original state. But now...ZERO electrics at the ignition switch. Nada! After some initial exploration (and cleaning up of two visible earths in the engine bay and the engine earth, below the alternator) I have 12v at:
  • Timer unit
  • Starter motor
But NOTHING at all when I turn on the ignition. I have followed Renoir White's fuse board... but the fuses are ALL different to his I have noticed. See attached pics... Even some 25 amp fuses in there which doesn't seem right. HELP guys!!!

MATT

(Renoir White's fuse layout for 1990 Renault Trafic)