Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, picked up a 2nd hand RX4 which was cleverly disguised from having a leaking rear diff. Basically on the drive home the oil warmed up and started leaking out, didn't catch it before.

It seems to be coming from the driveshaft-end of the diff, though I can't be certain if it's actually coming from the actual driveshaft entry point (Sorry, I'm new to diffs, not sure the technical term) or whether it's coming from the "join" in the main diff body itself.

I've attached a picture so you can see what it looks like.

Anyone got any ideas as to what I can do?

Attachments

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Anyone? Also anyone know if the petrol and diesel diffs are different should I need to get a replacement? What would be involved in removing it?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

·
remember Murphy never sleeps
8,239 Posts
hi think you need to get the prop off first but must say that photo looks more like a stain I would clean it off ensue diff level is correct then run it for a while then worry cheers

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have a puddle under the car so it's definitely more than a stain. It's 100% leaking. I will try and get some pics from the front of the unit to get a better idea of the source of the leak. Thanks for all your help so far :)

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

So here are a couple of pics I've managed to take. The leak definitely seems to be coming from the input shaft seal. It's between the big drum (which I assume is the viscous coupling?) And the main diff body.

So my questions are:
1. How easy is it to get the diff out? The prop looks relatively easy and the diff seems attached to the car by 4 large bolts, but it's getting the driveshafts out that looks the tricky bit.
2. Do the petrol and diesel versions share the same diff? I can't seem to find out anywhere.