Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

Today when my clio bonnet catch was looked at they noted a squealing noise, which i think they said was the alternator belt (sound right??- i'm not technically minded at all!). I too have noticed this faintish squealing noise, not very loud but noticable when the engine's running.

Can anyone give me more info on how it works and why it would be doing this? And what should i get done about it? The car was serviced less then 1000miles ago, the 72000 mile service (although i can't be certain what was done as it was before i owned it and it wasn't at a renault garage so there's no record).

Thanks so much in advance- sorry for being so clueless!

Rachel

·
Premium Member
40,429 Posts
The squealing noise could be the belt itself,or a pulley bearing.The thing to do is have the belt removed and run the engine for a short time.If the noise dissapears,then the problem can be traced to the belt or a pulley for sure.

Make sure your car had it's cambelt changed at the 72k service.The alternator belt would have been removed as part of the cambelt change,and Renault recommend changing the alternator belt(more commonly known as the auxillary belt) at the same time.

To add,I'd have the problem looked at asap,as if the auxillary belt breaks it can become wrapped aroung the cambelt causing catastrophic engine damage.Sorry to be the profit of impending doom,but if you get it looked at now,it could save you a lot of money and hassle.:)

Good luck and let us know how you get on.:)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks a lot lagdti, i'll definitely get it looked at then, although guess it'll be Monday or Tuesday at the earliest now. Until then i'll just drive around in a paranoid state with images of my engine exploding on me (yes i'm very paranoid cos the car is a new purchase and i'll never ever have that much money to blow on a car again!).