Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just purchased a (2006 4 berth Bailey Pageant Champagne), so first question to dealer I have a 2004 / 5 Renault Laguna II Extreme 1.9 Dci 120 Bhp Hatchback (the car was with me by the way) will this car pull this caravan safely? He looks the car over nips away checks online with the Towsafe? Answer: Yep there will be no problem what so ever.:)
So feeling confident we go through with the purchase.
I am a newbie to caravanning as you will plainly see but her to be obeyed and I started to do our homework on safe towing and joining the relevant clubs.
(Some facts first, the cars manual states Kerb weight 1350 Kg and the train weight 3100 The Caravan’s MTPLM is 1335) the Camping and Caravan club came back that the caravan is too heavy, :mad: but other sites have gone from OK to Fine to Borderline.:confused:
It seems that Renault put the weight down as (Driver only) and is very much to the lower end of towing weights, no wonder people get confused we all want to be safe on the road.
I like the end bathroom in this Bailey caravan loads of room when I towed it from the caravan dealer it was spot on not nose down or up and seemed to be fine has anyone had any experience they can pass on to us newbie’s?
Thanks Stu

·
Premium Member
248 Posts
Ive had trouble understanding Renaualts weights, i tow a Swift Corniche 14/4 with an unladen weight of 1000kwt. I just wanted to know the maximum weight i could tow but they couldnt give me that. went on an independent website and that told me i could tow up :eek: to 1500kwt! Must admit that seems quite heavy to me for my car. i drive a Mk 11 1.9dci 120bhp by the way.

·
Premium Member
6,475 Posts
The towing guides were compiled by an idiot. When a 1.4 Clio can tow a heavier trailer than a 2.0 Laguna, there is no other conclusion :p