Independent Renault Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, would be grateful for any advice.
We've recently spent quite a lot of money having the cambelt and cylinders (?) replaced on our 2001 1.6 Scenic. I've noticed the last few days that I'm now getting white smoke from the exhaust when I start the engine from cold; also it judders for the first 5 minutes or so (it's done a little under 80k miles). The smoke and juddering are new since getting the car back after the cambelt work.

Has anyone come across this? It's booked into a local, decent, garage (not the same that did the cambelt) in the next week but I'm just beginning to wonder if the car has outlived its usefulness!

Thanks for any advice.

·
Premium Member
43,291 Posts
Over-fueling causes black smoke - not white smoke.

As a guide:-

White smoke is usually water vapour.

Black smoke is over-fueling or an engine misfire whereby unburnt fuel is getting into the exhaust.

White smoke with a distinctive bluish tinge is burning engine oil.

Keep a very close eye on the oil and coolant levels.:)

D

·
0 Posts
Over-fueling causes black smoke - not white smoke.
Erm......... nope.

White smoke IS unburnt fuel leaving the exhaust, and will smell of fuel.
White STEAM won't smell of unburnt fuel, but will give the appearance of smoke

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hello to all newbie here same problem here too onlyme , on a 1.4 megane coupe cambelt been changed now blowing out white smoke if i leave the car running on tickover for 5 mins then drive the car up the road i have a great cloud of white smoke come out of the exhaust for 10 secs then clears. checked water levels checked oil and also the oil filler cap and they are all clean and levels are normal .and the car drives with no problem whatsoever any ideas from the experts out there........ many thanks bazza

R

·
0 Posts