Independent Renault Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks

I'm a newbie to the forum but welcome all ideas and recommendations from existing forum members.

I'm a South African and recently purchased a Renault Clio 3 2007 petrol 1.6l model. The vehicle was running well however I decided to clean the MAF sensor which I did so carefully. I then bought a bottle of Wynns Injector Cleaner and poured the contents into a full tank as per the instructions. Straight after that I lost power, erratic idling, vehicle is surging on the highway and my petrol consumption has gone through the roof.

I have no clue what do to now can anyone give me some advice, thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
Captur 2017 1.5DCi EDC
4,037 Posts
Sounds like the problems are more likely related to the MAF sensor than the injector cleaner. Could you have damaged it, or maybe an air leak on reassembly?

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
HI
Sorry to hear of these problems. We have the same engine (but auto transmission).
I'd agree with twodogs above. Symptoms sound like related to engine management.
When you say MAF sensor, do you mean the one just under the yellow oil dipstick cap? (see photo).
Check it's plugged back in firmly.
:(

Sadly you have broken two important rules with Renaults! :confused:

Rule 1: If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Rule 2: If you have to fix it, do just one thing at a time; then you know what's caused the next problem!

Tire Wheel Hood Light Product

·
Super Moderator Technical Supremo Platinum Member
24,510 Posts
Sadly you have broken two important rules with Renaults! :confused:
Not only Renaults....any car and TBH, worth remembering for many things through life.

I agree more likely to be MAF...as long as you did follow the instructions on the Wynns and assuming the genuine article.
MAFs can be delicate, cleaning often kills them.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·